BLOG POST 2

This weeks blog read of choice was a blog called “ Polymorphism in Programming” by Jonathan Johnson. This blog goes throught what is polymorphism, how to use them and also the different types that there are. One thing I thought was funny is that it compares ciderella after midnight m and before as polymorphism. Since polymorphism is when the object undergoes transformation. In programming the oject tranforms in compile time and dynamic and what does the transfmation is the method and object. Polymorphism is very essential to object oriented programming. Four different types of polymorphism are subtypes polymorphisms, parametric polymorphisms, and hoc polymorphisms and coercion polymorphisms. Subtype polymorphisms is the most common kind, it uses of class name to refrenece multiple kinds of subtypes at once. Parametric polymorphism which is also describe as overloading specially provides a way to use one of its functions to interact with multiple types. Ad hoc polymorphism also known as compile time the function with the same name acts differently for different types and lastly there is coescion polymorphism is the direct tranfomation of one type to another this happens when one type gets cast into another type. The reason why I picked this blog post was because we went over polymorphism in class a while back but I personally did not take the time to dig deeper into the subject so this was a good opportunity to dive a little deeper. Which is what I was able to achieve with this blog post. It refreshed what I learned about the different types of polymorphism and really helped me grasp the concept into a more deeper level. The reason why I picked this blog post is because I like the way it was formatted and how it is organized with its information. I also like the graphics that they used to explain it. It brought a simple and a more clear picture. Especially when they used Disney to connect to reader. I really appreciated that, it brought a sense of light weight to the read. There was a lot of information but it was easy to intake because of the organization. I hope to take a lot from this blog post, and use polymorphism to reuse code more effectively, to also use same variable for multiple date types. And also to reduce coupling with differently functionality types. Hopefully these clarification with different types help me excel in this so that when I do need to reuse code I can do it in the best format possible using all the architecture structures that I am learning. 

https://www.bmc.com/blogs/polymorphism-programming/


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started